Attention All Motorcycle Owners & Riders

New Law in Washington State

Here are the quick facts you need to know:

Beginning on July 28, 2019, you are required to carry liability insurance.

Anyone who drives a car or motorcycle* on and after July 28, 2019 has to choose one of the following options in order to comply with the law:

  • Carry at least $25,000/$50,000/$10,000 liability limits** or
  • Apply for a certificate of deposit to pay for your liability insurance with the Department of Licensing ( or
  • Have a liability bond of at least $60,000 filed by a surety bond company that is authorized to do business in Washington State or
  • Self-insure if you have 26 or more vehicles. You can find out if you qualify for this option by contacting the Department of Licensing.

If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer, you must show proof of insurance or you can receive a ticket for a traffic violation. If you do not have a current proof of insurance, please contact our office and we will provide you with a copy to keep with you when riding your motorcycle.

*motor scooters and mopeds are exempt from this law (

**the limits required are State Minimum and although they will suffice to keep you legal on the road, they are not generally adequate should an accident occur.

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Washington

Thornburgh Insurance is Licensed to Provide Insurance in the State of Washington
©2022 Thornburgh Insurance Agency, 188 Ericksen NE, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110 | Phone 206-842-7692 | Toll-Free 800-747-7684 | Fax 206-780-1503
Disclaimer | Privacy Notice